2014 CMA Awards Headquarters

The CMA Awards air live on Wednesday November 5 at 8pm. Hosted, once again, by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood it’s a show that brings out the best and brightest stars in country music including some impressive performances (complete list here). The night dedicated to the best of country music over the past year will likely morph into a George Strait love fest at some point, before returning to it’s usual format. We’ve outlined all the major awards including who we think will take home each award. Winners of the awards can be found here.

Album of the Year

Crash My Party – Luke Bryan

Fuse – Keith Urban

Platinum – Miranda Lambert

Riser – Dierks Bentley

The Outsiders –  Eric Church

The consensus pick here is likely going to be Miranda Lambert’s Platinum. However, Eric Church had the best selling album of the year and Dierks Bentley’s Riser was an excellent effort as well. The voters should go with The Outsiders, but Platinum will likely win album of the year.

Female Vocalist of the Year 

Carrie Underwood

Kacey Musgraves

Martina McBride

Miranda Lambert

Taylor Swift

This is going to be a two horse race between Carrie Underwood and Miranda Lambert. Ultimately, Miranda Lambert should get the nod due to her new album that came out this year. Although the voters can’t go wrong with either artist.

Male Vocalist of the Year

Blake Shelton

Dierks Bentley

Eric Church

Keith Urban

Luke Bryan

When the nominees were announced many Jason Aldean fans, and even Aldean’s father, were upset to be left off the list. All of these artists released an album since Aldean’s Night Train and that’s why they got the nomination nods. The voters can’t go wrong here, but it’d be nice to see Dierks Bentley get rewarded for his great year.

Music Video of the Year 

“Automatic” – Miranda Lambert (Directed by Trey Fanjoy)

“Bartender” – Lady Antebellum (Directed by Shane Drake)

“Drunk on a Plane” – Dierks Bentley (Directed by Wes Edwards)

“Follow Your Arrow” – Kacey Musgraves (Directed by Kacey Musgraves and Honey)

“Somethin’ Bad” – Miranda Lambert & Carrie Underwood (Directed by Trey Fanjoy)

The award was announced this morning on Good Morning America and has been won by Dierks Bentley!

Musical Event of the Year 

“Meanwhile Back at Mama’s” – Tim McGraw feat. Faith Hill

“Somethin’ Bad” – Miranda Lambert & Carrie Underwood

“We Were Us” – Keith Urban feat. Miranda Lambert

“You Can’t Make Old Friends” – Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton

“Bakersfield” – Vince Gill & Paul Franklin

This award has been won by Keith Urban & Miranda Lambert! Check out their video for “We Were Us” here.

New Artist of the Year 

Brandy Clark

Brett Eldredge

Cole Swindell

Kip Moore

Thomas Rhett

This award is partially determined through fan voting. A few months ago this would have been Thomas Rhett’s award to lose, however Cole Swindell and Brett Eldredge continue to gain popularity making it a little more challenging to call. Ultimately, Thomas Rhett and his “Hometeam” should still take home the award.

Single of the Year 

“Automatic” – Miranda Lambert

“Drunk on a Plane” –  Dierks Bentley

“Give Me Back My Hometown” – Eric Church

“Meanwhile Back at Mama’s” – Tim McGraw feat. Faith Hill

“Mine Would Be You” –  Blake Shelton

Both “Automatic” and “Give Me Back My Hometown” are nominated here and for song of the year. It’s hard to see “Automatic” not winning one of the categories. Her competition is slightly stiffer in the next category so look for “Automatic” to take home the award here.

Song of the Year 

“Automatic” – Written by: Nicolle Gaylon, Natalie Hemby, & Miranda Lambert

“Follow Your Arrow” – Written by: Kacey Musgraves, Brandy Clark, & Shane McAnally

“Give Me Back My Hometown” – Written by: Eric Church & Luke Laird

“I Don’t Dance” – Written by: Lee Brice, Rob Hatch, & Dallas Davidson

“I Hold On” – Written by: Brett James & Dierks Bentley

All of these are great songs, hence why they’ve been nominated. There’s certainly plenty of fans who’d love to see Dierks get an award here, but Lee Brice and “I Don’t Dance” is probably the safer pick.

Vocal Duo of the Year 

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Love and Theft

The Swon Brothers

Thompson Square

If Florida Georgia Line doesn’t take home the award it will be a massive upset. Both Dan + Shay and The Swon Brothers are talented acts who may be able to steal an award in the future, but for now FGL is still the best.

Vocal Group of the Year 

Eli Young Band

Lady Antebellum

Little Big Town

The Band Perry

Zac Brown Band

Little Big Town should grab this award next time around, but for now it’s a race between Lady Antebellum and The Band Perry. Lady Antebellum rides the success of Bartender” and 747 into the voting and that should earn them the award.

Entertainer of the Year 

Blake Shelton

George Strait

Keith Urban

Luke Bryan

Miranda Lambert

The biggest award of the night will likely cause some drama. The award will likely be won by George Strait. This was his final year on tour and consequently his last year to win the award. However, Luke Bryan has taken his live performances to the next level over the next six months and Miranda Lambert was the only female artist to headline an amphitheater tour this year. Luke should win the award, but don’t expect it.

Image courtesy of CMAworld.com